Man to be Sentenced in Death of Transgender Victim

fox8.com

CLEVELAND – The man found guilty of killing a transgender individual was sentenced Wednesday.

The crime motivated activists to rally and send a message that violence against members of the transgender community is not acceptable.

Last week, a jury found Andrey Bridges, 36, guilty of murder, felonious assault, tampering with evidence and abuse of a corpse.

He was given a life sentence with the possibility of parole after 21 years.

Authorities said the victim, Ce Ce Dove, 20, born Carl Edward Acoff, Jr., was repeatedly stabbed and found dumped in an Olmsted Township pond in April.

At his sentencing, Bridges said he was there the night Dove was killed, but maintained he did not commit the crime.

“I’m sorry I wasn’t strong enough to tell anybody what happened.  I’m sorry that I couldn’t save him.  I’m sorry I witnessed how he died.  I’m sorry that I was scared for my…

View original post 122 more words

Leave a Reply

